The German Heiress

The German Heiress

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.

Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family’s past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa.

Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who’s hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other—if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war.

Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

Title:The German Heiress
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062937728
Format Type:

    The German Heiress Reviews

  • Julie

    An effective, highly suspenseful post WWII saga-Clara Falkenberg, once an heiress to the Falkenberg Iron Works has been living under an assumed name since the end of the war. She earned a tough reputa...

  • Paige

    Clara hides in post-WWII Germany under a different name until someone recognizes her and unveils her true identity. Is that all she is? Her whole life comes down to the years during the war when she m...

  • Paromjit

    Anika Scott writes a post WW2 piece of intriguing historical fiction from the unusual perspective of the defeated and humiliated Germans, now living under Allied occupation of the victorious forces. G...

  • Brenda -Traveling Sister

    I had some mixed feelings here with The German Heiress. The story started off slow for me and I felt like I was missing something here with Clara's characters. I struggled with finding her convincing ...

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    Clara Falkenberg was nicknamed “the Iron Fraulein” during World War II because she operated her parents large iron business. An heiress before war, she is now potentially in ruin with interrogator...

  • Karren  Sandercock

    Clara Falkenberg, was once Germany’s most eligible and richest heiress and during World War II she took over operating her family’s iron works empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war en...

  • DJ Sakata

    Favorite Quotes:What a slippery thing conscience could be. It had driven her in two directions. To her father, with all the duties of family and work… And then she had been driven to help the worker...

  • DeAnn

    4 made me think starsThis one is set in post-WWII Germany and follows Clara Falkenberg. She’s from a prominent family that ran an iron business before and during the war. Once her father is off at w...

  • Kylie Corley

    I won an ARC through Goodreads, and I could not have been more ecstatic. I've always been obsessed with World War II historical fiction. This one had a German view.This had all of my emotions in overd...

  • Faith

    If you are looking for a pro-nazi book you might enjoy this thriller more than I did. Clara ran an ironworks factory in Essen during the war. Her father has been accused of being a war criminal and no...